[Answered] DNS-01 Manual question

This most likely is a dumb question, but this is my first time really diving into LE.

I have Certifytheweb and LE set up and issued certs (utilizing DNS-01 manual TXT record), and deployed them to servers. Playing around, I have requested new certs (after enabling PFX password etc.) without issues.

My question is this: when it comes time to renew (14 days before expiration), will Certifytheweb/LE require/generate a new TXT record to be uploaded in our DNS host manually? Or will it always use the same TXT record? I’m confused on this because I’ve requested a new cert and LE provided the cert automatically, so I’m not sure if that TXT record has to be updated…

Hi, you should absolutely avoid using Manual DNS as your normal domain validation method. We support it only for evaluation/testing and it is not automated.

Yes, when your cert renews you will definitely need to update DNS manually again if you use this method. Let’s Encrypt currently caches validations for 30 days so if you re-request a cert for the same domain within that timeframe it doesn’t make you validate again, but proper renewals will.

See also this reply to another thread regarding Certify DNS (a dns challenge response service we run): Renewal Failure - No order for ID XXX - #5 by webprofusion

Okay so 14 days before the cert expires, certifytheweb will request a new cert, which will be past the 30 day cache, which would then prompt us to enter the DNS TXT code manually.

For us, this is most likely an acceptable practice. We only have two certs (a single subdomain.domain.tld and a wildcard *.domain.tld).