Certify The Web for Windows Server 2016 Essentials Access Anywhere

Hello community! I’m new to Certify The Web and was hoping somebody could help me understand: Can I use Certify The Web to create a SSL Certificate for Remote Web Access and VPN on my home server (Windows Server 2016)? All I’m trying to do is get around having to purchase a SSL Certificate every year simply to access my server/network remotely. I’m not hosting a website, so I think all I need is a DV for Windows Server (IIS). Does anybody have a tutorial on exactly how to do this maybe?

Thank you!!!

The app is free for the first 5 managed certificates, so that usually covers most people. Sorry I don’t have any experience with Server Essentials. You should start by requesting a certificate for IIS then see how you can script it to apply to other services/products.

Okay, thanks Christopher!

Since WSE2016 uses SSL for Remote Web Access, I’m pretty sure it will work as hoped.
I use WSE2012 and the RWA website runs happily under a LE certificate. I don’t use SSL VPN so can’t answer that one, but would be interested to hear your results if you try it.

This free guide will help you Get a free Let’s Encrypt SSL certificate for Access Anywhere and automatically renew it.

1 Like

Hello,
I’ve set up our server using the very useful guide above but I still have to run anywhere access repair to get the vpn working again after a renewal. If I run the script (unaltered from the example script fro RDPGatewayServices) as a test from within Certify the Web it breaks the vpn so i think there is an issue in it for Essentials maybe?
Any thoughts?
Ps I am an enthusiastic amateur!
Shaun
WSE 2016

I’m not an expert in that I’m afraid but the default script probably doesn’t restart the service, so maybe you need to adjust that to restart the necessary services?