RDP web certificate error

After the first renew of my certififcate RDP still works correctly when connecting directly and also the website shows the newly generated SSL-Certificate.

sadly I can’t connect through RDWEB till I reboot the whole Server… Restarting single services didn’t help.
maybe I just didn’t found the right service. Does someone have an idea?
Info → It’s running on only a single 2019 Server. without Gateway! (yes this works)

Hi, which services did you restart? Did you use a service restart in your script or in a Service Stop/Start/Restart deployment task? I agree it’s quite difficult to automated as you are generally connected to that service at the same time as trying to automate the cert!

Hey there

now getting the same problem again, but rebooting doesn’t help.
I verified that the cert in the webbrowser has the same fingerprint as the cert which is shown…
I also imported it like this:
Import-RDWebClientBrokerCert
but smh not working.

So I’m not an RDP expert but here is our built-in deployment task code for RDP Gateway (Tasks > Add Deployment Task)- note that if you want to restart services you need to enable that in the task parameters UI and I would recommend using the Manual trigger type so you can run the task during a maintenance window if it will interrupt other users.

I don’t know if it applies to your version/configuration and some users prefer to script their own. It works in the 2016 version I tested when developing this script in a simple environment (no other machines involved):

param($result, [switch] $restartServices = $false)

Import-Module RemoteDesktopServices

# Apply certificate
Set-Item -Path RDS:\GatewayServer\SSLCertificate\Thumbprint -Value $result.ManagedItem.CertificateThumbprintHash -ErrorAction Stop

# Optionally restart TSGateway and related service

if ($restartServices -eq $true)
{

Restart-Service IAS -Force -ErrorAction Stop
	Restart-Service TSGateway -Force -ErrorAction Stop