TLS/SSL Newb needs DMZ server help

Hi, I’m new to SSL/TLS certs but I have a project I need help on. We are a museum, we have a database that the administrators want to provide access to from the web. Our software provider is requiring me to provide a server on our DMZ that will connect to the internal database info. The server is up, software installed, and is working internally but I need a certificate for it and then I can point a subdomain or folder to it. Can Certify the Web help with this. A couple of SSL providers have turned me down since its not a hosted server ??

thanks for any direction anyone can give.
b

Hi, the short answer is yes but it does require work and configuration on your part.

The process consists of two stages:

• getting (or renewing) your certificate, this ends up as a file (or files) on disk.
  • deploying your certificate. This is using the certificate with the actual services (e.g. websites, mail servers, ftp, remote desktop, database servers etc).

Getting a certificate
To get a certificate using Certify The Web, you first specify the domains you want, this is the full name of any site or service you want to use the cert with. e.g. test01.dev.mycorp.com would be an example name you might include on a cert. You then choose (on the Authorization tab) how to prove control of your domains, using either http validation or DNS validation. Http validation (the default) is the easiest for public web servers because you just run Certify on that server and it helps respond to the “challenge” from the Certificate Authority (e.g. the default CA is Let’s Encrypt).

DNS validation depends largely on who hosts your DNS services as to whether it can be automated and will therefore work for you, but it has the advantage of not requiring a public web server to respond to the CA.

Once you’ve done that, you can click Request Certificate to order your (free) cert.

Deploying a certificate
Some things depend on what exactly you want the cert for: